This post contains affiliate links for which I may earn a commission (at no extra cost to you) should you make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Please see my disclaimer for more information.
Wheat Thins are crackers that come in a variety of flavors, but not all of the flavors are vegan! Continue reading to see which flavors are vegan and what non-vegan ingredients to look out for.
Controversial ingredients for vegans
Before we get into which flavors of Wheat Thins are vegan, we need to go over some controversial ingredients in the vegan community. The flavors that you consider vegan will depend on how strict you are about avoiding the following ingredients.
Wheat Thins contain sugar as an ingredient, which isn’t an animal product, but it may come in contact with bone char.
Some sugar suppliers use bone char, which is charred animal bones, in their filtration process.
The company that makes Wheat Thins uses several sugar suppliers, some of which use bone char. This means that in any package of Wheat Thins, it is possible that the sugar used was filtered through bone char.
Some vegans are okay with this because so many packaged products contain sugar that may come in contact with bone char. However, more strict vegans avoid all products that include sugar unless the sugar is certain to not be filtered through bone char.
Certain flavors of Wheat Thins contain natural flavor as an ingredient. This could be sourced from plants or animals and it is not revealed on packaging.
Companies also usually will not reveal the source of their natural flavor when asked. So some vegans avoid any product containing natural flavor as an ingredient, unless the product is labeled as vegan by the company.
However, in Wheat Thins it seems unlikely that the natural flavors are sourced from animals, so many vegans will be okay with this.
Vegan Wheat Thins
If you are a strict vegan who avoids the ingredients listed above, then you would want to avoid all Wheat Thins.
Keep in mind that ingredients and recipes can change at any time, and new flavors could be added at any time.
If you are okay with consuming sugar filtered through bone char and natural flavors of unknown sources, the following Wheat Thins are Vegan:
- Reduced Fat
- Sundried Tomato & Basil
- Hint of Salt
- Cracked Pepper & Olive Oil
Non-Vegan Wheat Thins
The Ranch Wheat Thins are NOT vegan because they contain milk ingredients. They also contain sugar and natural flavor that may or may not be vegan.