This post contains affiliate links for which I may earn a commission (at no extra cost to you) should you make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Please see my disclaimer for more information.
Shake Shack doesn’t have very many vegan options but you can have the fries, and some locations have a vegan burger patty.
See all of the vegan options at Shake Shack listed below.
Disclaimer: Before we get into the options, keep in mind that cross-contact with animal products is likely at any restaurant that isn’t fully vegan.
Certain ingredients may also unknowingly be sourced from animals, such as natural flavors, and sugar may be processed with bone char.
If you are okay with these potential issues as a vegan, check out the options below.
Vegan Options at Shake Shack
Here are the vegan options at Shake Shack at the time of writing this post. Keep in mind that ingredients can change at any time, so be sure to confirm at your Shake Shack location.
Shake Shack has a Veggie Shack burger at certain locations. The patty is vegan, but make sure you say you want the burger to be vegan when you order it so that they give you a vegan bun and only vegan toppings (no cheese or regular mayo).
Most of the burgers at Shake Shack come in buns that contain milk, but they do have a bun without milk for the Veggie Shack burger.
Vegan burger buns to choose from:
- Vegan wheat burger bun.
- You can also choose the gluten-free bun, which is vegan too.
- If you don’t want a bun, you can have your veggie burger in a lettuce wrap.
Toppings that come on the vegan Veggie Shack burger:
- Vegan mayo
All vegan burger topping options:
- Vegan mayo
- Cherry Peppers
- BBQ Sauce
The crispy shallots contain milk so don’t use them as a burger topping.
ShackSauce is NOT vegan.
If the Veggie Shack is not available, you unfortunately will not be able to have a burger at Shake Shack.
- Regular Crinkle Cut Fries – Cooked in soy oil, but there is likely cross-contact with animal products.
Sauces and condiments
- BBQ Sauce
- Iced Teas
- Orange Juice
- Apple Juice
- Water bottles
Shake Shack Vegan FAQs
Is the Shake Shack ‘Shroom Burger vegan?
No. The mushroom patty contains cheese, so there is no way to make this burger vegan.
Does Shake Shack have a vegan breakfast sandwich?
Does Shake Shack have a vegan hot dog?
No. There is a Garden Dog which has a pickle and more veggies in a bun, but the bun contains milk. So this is an option for vegetarians, but not vegans.
Are there any vegan shakes at Shake Shack?
No. They all contain milk.
Is ShackSauce Vegan?
No, it contains egg.