This post contains affiliate links for which I may earn a commission (at no extra cost to you) should you make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Please see my disclaimer for more information.
Fritos are delicious corn chips that come in various flavors and shapes.
Not all varieties of Fritos are vegan, but a few of them are.
Which flavors of Fritos are vegan?
Fritos Original Corn Chips are vegan. They only contain 3 ingredients: corn, corn oil, salt.
The Original Fritos Scoops! Corn Chips are also vegan. They have the same ingredients, but are shaped differently.
The Lightly Salted Fritos are also vegan. They are made with the same 3 ingredients as the Original, but contain less salt.
You can have any of these plain Fritos without worrying about harming animals. Unfortunately, none of the current fun flavors are vegan. More on that below.
Which flavors of Fritos are not vegan?
*Flavors and ingredients can change at anytime. Always check the ingredients to be sure if a product is vegan. If there are questionable ingredients, you can contact the company.
Different countries may also have different flavors. Flavors could also be discontinued at any time and new flavors could be made.
Non-vegan Fritos flavors:
- Fritos Scoops! Spicy Jalapeno Corn Chips
- Fritos Flavor Twists Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Chips
- Fritos Chili Cheese Flavored Corn Chips
- Fritos Flamin’ Hot Flavored Corn Chips
Non-vegan ingredients in Fritos
Here are some non-vegan ingredients that are included in various flavors of Fritos:
- Milk: Milk comes from animals, so it’s pretty straightforward why it’s not vegan.
- Honey: Honey comes from bees, so it isn’t vegan.
- Natural flavors: Natural flavors can be vegan or non-vegan. Large companies that manufacture processed foods often don’t disclose exactly what there natural flavors are from, so it’s often impossible to be sure if the source is plant-based or animal-based.
- Sugar: Sugar is also a tricky ingredient when it comes to veganism because it is sometimes processed with bone char, and most large companies have several sugar suppliers, so it’s difficult to know if the sugar used in each package is truly vegan or not. A lot of people who are vegan aren’t overly concerned with this because so many otherwise vegan treats contain sugar and it doesn’t contain any animal products, it just uses animal bones during processing. Organic sugar is never processed with bone char, but the sugar in Fritos is not organic.
- Artificial colors: Artificial colors are used to dye foods. They may not contain animal ingredients, but they are usually tested on animals.
Here is a breakdown of some non-vegan ingredients that are in the following specific flavors:
Fritos Scoops! Spicy Jalapeno Corn Chips
Not vegan because they contain milk ingredients such as whey and sour cream, as well as natural flavors (which may or may not be vegan).They also contain sugar that may be processed with bone char.
Fritos Flavor Twists Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Chips
Not vegan because they contain honey, sugar, brown sugar, food dyes (which are tested on animals), and natural flavors.
Chili Cheese Flavored Corn Chips
Not vegan because they contain whey (which comes from milk), cheese, sugar, buttermilk, butter, and natural flavors.
Fritos Flamin’ Hot Flavored Corn Chips
Not vegan because they contain cheese, milk, buttermilk, whey, food dyes, natural flavors, and sugar.